Every year since 2003 all Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4) have been required by the Clean Water Act to obtain a permit from the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) for Phase II of the National Pollution Discharge Elimination System (NPDES). Phase I of the NPDES permit was first implemented in 1990 for medium and large municipal separate storm sewer systems.

About Permits

The City of Batavia meets the requirements determined by the Bureau of Census for falling into the Small MS4 category. The NPDES Permit is a 5-year permit which requires an annual report submitted to IEPA by June of each year. The permit covers discharges from their municipal separate storm sewer systems including storm water runoff, snow melt runoff and surface runoff and drainage. The 2008 permit was extended an additional year, making it a 6 year permit set to expire in 2014.


The permit requires a storm water management program comprised of Best Management Practices (BMPs) and measurable goals for a minimum of 6 control measures. Those controls measures are as follows:

  • Construction Site Storm Water Runoff Control
  • Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination
  • Pollution Prevention / Good Housekeeping for Municipal Operations
  • Post Construction Storm Water Management in New Development and Redevelopment
  • Public Education and Outreach on Storm Water Impacts
  • Public Involvement and Participation

City of Batavia Stormwater Management Program Plan (SMPP)

Submitted Permits

Below is a list of the Permits submitted by the City of Batavia: